Recently, my sandbox came across a scareware that locks down the victim’s computer due to “terrorism and child pornography”. The malware is being detected by some AV vendors as “Win32/LockScreen”.
The schema is pretty simple: The criminals try to infect computers with scareware (eg. through Drive-By exploits). As soon as the computer is infected, the malware locks down the machine so that the user won’t be able to log in any more. The malware then displays a message to the user that the law enforcement agency XY found child pornography on the victims computer and that the his computer was used to send out “spam mails with terrorist motives”:
This operating system is locked due to the violation of the laws of the United Kingdom! Following violations were detected:
Your IP address was used to visit websites containing pornography, child pornography, zoopillia and child abuse. Your computer also contains video files with Pornographic content, elements of violence and child pornograhpy! Spam-messages with terrorist motives were also sent from your computer
This computer lock is aimed to stop your illegal activity.
The message which is being displayed to the victim looks like this (click to enlarge):

What is interesting with this scareware is the dependency of the geo location of the victim’s computer. Before the scareware displays the message shown above, it contacts a central botnet command and control server (C&C) located in Ukraine (188.190.99.174 – AS197145 Infium LTD) using HTTP:
User-Agent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSlE 6.0; Windows NT 5.1; SV1; .NET CLR 1.1.4322)
Host: 188.190.99.174
Connection: Keep-Alive
188.190.099.174.00080-X: HTTP/1.1 200 OK
Date: Wed, XX Feb 2012 XX:XX:XX
Server: Apache/2.2.3 (CentOS)
X-Powered-By: PHP/5.1.6
Content-Length: 32
Connection: close
Content-Type: text/html; charset=UTF-8
http://188.190.99.174/pic/DE.bmp
In the first request the malware contacts the C&C using a parameter called “getpic”. The C&C will response with an URL containing the location of the image the malware should display to on the victim. The malware will follow the URL and download the BMP-file:
User-Agent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSlE 6.0; Windows NT 5.1; SV1; .NET CLR 1.1.4322)
Host: 188.190.99.174
Cache-Control: no-cache
Then the malware will determine the IP address of the victim’s computer by using the parameter “getip”:
User-Agent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSlE 6.0; Windows NT 5.1; SV1; .NET CLR 1.1.4322)
Host: 188.190.99.174
Connection: Keep-Alive
Afterwards the malware displays a “lock screen” to the user using the response (=ip address) from the C&C and the image file downloaded before.
The interesting part is that you can identify the countries which are being hit by this attack by guessing the files on the botnet controller (country codes). So far, I’ve identified the following countries/URLs:
Most domain names mentioned above are misspelled, for example, the domain name landes-kriminalt.net is a misspelling of “Kriminalamt” which is equivalent to the Federal Police. All mentioned domain names are registered through registrar BIZCN (a registrar located in China):
Registrar: BIZCN.COM, INC.
Whois Server: whois.bizcn.com
Referral URL: http://www.bizcn.com
Name Server: NS3.CNMSN.COM
Name Server: NS4.CNMSN.COM
Status: clientDeleteProhibited
Status: clientTransferProhibited
Updated Date: 02-may-2011
Creation Date: 02-may-2011
Expiration Date: 02-may-2012
Last update of whois database: Thu, 01 Mar 2012 10:26:21 UTC
[...]
Domain name: landes-kriminalt.net
Registrant Contact:
Lilo
Petr Rublev goldenbaks@gmail.com
+7926987453 fax: +7926987453
privincealnaya 23
Tomsk Tomsk 78945
cn
Administrative Contact:
Petr Rublev goldenbaks@gmail.com
+7926987453 fax: +7926987453
privincealnaya 23
Tomsk Tomsk 78945
cn
Technical Contact:
Petr Rublev goldenbaks@gmail.com
+7926987453 fax: +7926987453
privincealnaya 23
Tomsk Tomsk 78945
cn
Billing Contact:
Petr Rublev goldenbaks@gmail.com
+7926987453 fax: +7926987453
privincealnaya 23
Tomsk Tomsk 78945
cn
DNS:
ns3.cnmsn.com
ns4.cnmsn.com
Created: 2011-05-02
Expires: 2012-05-02
What nearly all domain names have in common is the fact that they have already been up since more than 8 months (Created: 2011-05-02). The same registrant has also registered other domain names:
landes-kriminalt.org
bundeskriminalamtes.org
n-p-f.org
policemetropolitan.org
lapoliciaespanola.org
it-polizia.org
myxxxhot.org
nanosearchpro.net
porno-pir.org
privatetechnology.biz
sexysheep.org
tourboportal.com
tubechube.org
I’m asking myself how the criminals have managed not to get their domain names suspended for such a long time period. Please note that these domain names can be considered as malicious and should therefore be blocked at your network’s edge (web gateway / proxy / DNS) along with the botnet controller (188.190.99.174).
The described Scareware schema isn’t really new, Switzerland along with several other European countries were hit by a similar attack back in 2011:






